Located in the Renaissance district of Bar-le-Duc, a "Town of Artistic, Architectural and Historic Interest", in the "new" castle commissioned in 1567 by Duke Charles III, the delightful museum (Musée barrois) is adjacent to the former Chamber of Accounts (1523) and the Cartulary Room built in the late 15th century for René II of Anjou.
The Archaeology section houses collections that come mainly from Naix-aux-forges (known as Nasium in the ancient world, a major Leuci settlement) and Bar-le-Duc.
The art gallery is laid out in chronological order, with works dating from the 15th century to 1970.
The Cartulary Room provides a Gothic setting for the extensive collection of Lorraine sculptures dating from the 14th to 17th centuries.
Other sculptures in the museum include one by Rodin and another by Ipoustéguy. Among the drawings held by the museum are some by Boucher and one of the three sketches by Camille Claudel preserved in museums worldwide.
The Ethnography section, which was totally redesigned in 2010, is, for the most part, the descendent of the Geography Museum opened in 1883.The exhibits, designed to show lifestyles in non-western societies, represent the everyday lives of people in Africa, Oceania and the Far East. The most outstanding exhibit is a zemi, a rare reminder of the Taino culture.
The vast esplanade in front of the castle was laid out in 1794 when the collegiate church was demolished, opening up some breathtaking views of the lower town, the Gilles de Trèves College and the remains of the castle's fortifications (large Romanesque gate).
Allow 90 mins for a visit on your own and 2 hrs for a guided tour (booking required).
|Mercredi||De 14h00 à 18h00|
|Jeudi||De 14h00 à 18h00|
|Vendredi||De 14h00 à 18h00|
|Samedi||De 14h00 à 18h00|
|Dimanche||De 14h00 à 18h00|
Group 2 €
Enfant et étudiant (moins de 26 ans) : gratuit Gratuit tous les premiers dimanches du mois.