History of the citadel
The citadel of Montmédy is one of the most important structures in the North-East of France, constructed in the reign of Charles V of Spain in 1545. It was built on a rocky promontory more than 100 metres above the lower town. At the time, the town was part of the Spanish Netherlands. In 1657, the citadel was besieged by Louis XIV's troops and became French in 1659 (Treaty of the Pyrenees). In the 17th century, Vauban modified the ramparts, built barracks, dug ditches and surrounded the town, following his defensive principles. After 1870, Séré de Rivières built blockhouses in order to increase the number of soldiers in the citadel.
The citadel today
Despite the two wars, the citadel is well preserved.
It is possible to explore the citadel, using the Département audio-guide system: the wizzitor. This walking circuit allows the visitor to admire the panoramas from this strategic point and to understand the work of Charles V, Vauban and Séré de Rivières.
Inside, there are two museums:
- The Jules Bastien Lepage Museum: museum entirely devoted to this artist.
- The Fortifications Museum: the Fortifications Museum is designed to display the richness, diversity and interest of the Meuse military architectural heritage.